My reasons for quitting…..


My reasons for quitting Xanax, this question was posted by my very good friend Satis on response to my blog about my addiction to Xanax:

While we were on our little mini vacation to the KOA campground around Wednesday I ran out of Xanax and I thought nothing of it until around Friday and I wasn’t feeling very good I was shaking and real weirded out, don’t really know if I can expand on that very well, well on Saturday we headed back to the house and I could barely drive let alone pack everything up and then unpack it when we got to the house, well I got that all finished and was still sweating my ass off even after I had finished and went to my room to lay down, I thought that I might be getting a summer cold at this point and I had Gerri feel my forehead to see if I had a fever it was the only thing that I could think of at the time, she said I wasn’t and all the rest of that day I went from being really hot to actually shivering with cold. Well I still hadn’t gotten my Xanax from the doctor yet and I put it off to me being sick, now I have gone through DT’s from speed, and I got up in the middle of the night and I was looking at the wallpaper in our bathroom and it is a tropical motif with palm trees on it and while I was staring at it the trees were big and then it looked like the trees were shrinking and I could even see the individual branches moving while it went back to the right size, hell they looked like they were in 3D, and to be honest I thought it was pretty damn cool, and it hit me then that I was going into DT’s, well between sweating, shaking, feeling dizzy and having visual and auditory hallucinations I had, had enough. I told Gerri what was going on and I did a shit ton of research on the net and found out way to much about Xanax, I won’t quote any here you can do the search on your own, so I decided to go cold turkey, well then I was reading more and found out the prolonged risks of taking Xanax for an extended period of time say like 10 years, and the risks of going cold turkey (seizures) so I called my Doctor and he told me to go back to my regular dose and when I come to see him on the 16th we would start a tapering down regime to get me off the Xanax and we will find something else for my anxiety and panic disorder. This is my reasons for getting off the Xanax and also the fact that it is more addictive than heroin.

With much gratitude and devotion,

Dan Kline

2 Responses to “My reasons for quitting…..”

  1. I’m glad to hear both that you decided to taper down rather than go cold turkey, and that you did a heap of research into it as well. I didn’t know that going off Xanex can cause seizures, though I must admit I’m not surprised. If you are taking something that is deliberately changing the chemical signaling in your brain, you can bet your ass it’s going to wreak havoc if you stop.

Tell me what you think.

