BURDEN…..


I feel the weight of the heavy burden I bear,

It’s weight pulling me down, slowing me down,

The words I hear I speak unbidden, from lips with no tongue,

I hear the cracking of my very bones, this weight upon me heavier than stone,

Each step an unbearable agony, the blisters on my feet enraged,

This weight never shifting, never truly balanced,

My mouth dry and parched, I long to drink, yet never can I lay this burden down,

My stomach rumbles and aches, longing for sustenance to prolong my wearisome journey,

My mind craves knowledge only obvious to those who teach, and yet I can no longer stop to learn,

Each step an inch, each inch a mile, each mile an eternity,

The path stretches out before me, pulling me ever onward to mine own mysterious destination,

Forever it seems this place I seek, not knowing if I may lay this burden down,

It seems a part of me and extension of mine own body, akin to another arm or leg, or perhaps even a head,

No other may share this with me for it is mine alone to carry, but the weight of it is overwhelming,

Pulling me, pushing me ever forward never to rest my cracking bones and exhausted muscles.

Dan

Tell me what you think.

