Accountability…..


What better place to drop a bomb than on my very own little blog site.

 

I wanted to tell all of you why I am getting a divorce. I am getting a divorce because of three things that I can think of.

  1. While I was in the Navy I slept with a young woman named Bobbie, she was nice. I don’t really know how it got started or why but it did and I had sex with her and didn’t tell my wife about it till years later.
  2. In 2005 under the pretences of sending an email to my friend Ramon, I sent my ex-wife an email whining about lost loves and never getting them back. I don’t know what the rest of the email said because I don’t remember really writing it in the first place.
  3. I have left my wife several times over the years due to various reasons, partly because of fear and anxiety and partly because things were going to well and I just knew it would all end in tears and failure, so I sabotaged myself by leaving first so I wouldn’t get hurt.
  4. The second to last time while Gerri and I were separated I slept with another woman who I worked with, Gerri even caught me at my house with her leaving the next morning, I lied and told her that I never slept with her she was Cathy’s friend and she spent the night on the couch. I can’t even remember her name.
  5. Due to my mental disabilities over the years I have created fights out of thin air and really had no reason to be angry at anyone other than myself, and my past that has been eating away at my sanity for so many years I can’t count them.

I am telling all of you so that you know what type of person I have been for the last 14 years, there are no excuses for the way I have been and for the things I have done except for pure selfishness. I love my wife and once again I have sabotaged my own marriage by not taking responsibility for the things I have done. I thought that if we didn’t talk about it, it was ok. Well it wasn’t and has caused Gerri a lot of mental anguish over the years that finally came to a head over the last several weeks.

In return I will not take responsibility for her physical illnesses, I cannot give a person COPD, right-sided heart failure or fibromyalgia. I do take responsibility for her mental issues, the things I have done have caused depression, anxiety and a whole slew of things that I can’t begin to describe. I will not say I am sorry for this again, I can’t change the past I can only move forward into this world with a new and fresh outlook on life which is why I am writing this now. I don’t expect forgiveness on any of the things mentioned above, I don’t expect acceptance either, what I did was wrong and that is the truth.

With much love and devotion,

Dan Kline

2 Responses to “Accountability…..”

  1. Your honesty is commendable, Dan. I’m sorry.

Tell me what you think.

